Bacon Sandwich (BLT)

blt

Since I started Paleo I have given up bread 100%. I will go a year-plus without eating a sandwich and I’m totally cool with that because I love the way I eat.  However, that doesn’t mean I don’t miss the occasional sandwich for lunch!   I wanted to create a bread replacement so I could enjoy a nice sandwich every now and then so I created this “bread” made out of cashew meal and unsweetened apple sauce.  I was unsure to how this was going to turn out but I was overly surprised and I had to conscientiously stop myself from eating all 4 of them – they are that good!   So what better to put on a sandwich then, bacon!  One of my favorite things about this “diet” is that bacon is one of my primary protein sources.  I have bacon every.single.day.  It’s amazing, I love it and I never get sick of it! Get creative and put whatever you’d like on here!

Ingredients:

Rolls (makes 4 – you need to get yourself round molds or you can bake them as muffins!):

  • 1/2 Cup Cashew Meal
  • 1/2 Cup Tapioca Flour
  • 1/4 Cup Unsweetened Applesauce
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 tbsp Melted Coconut Oil
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • Dash of Salt (if desired).

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Blend the cashew meal, tapioca flour, baking powder together
  3. In a separate bowl, mix the eggs and melted coconut oil (in a microwave or pan).
  4. Pour the eggs/coconut oil in with the flour and mix together well.
  5. Place the round molds onto a cookie sheet and place 1/3 cup (or until almost to the top of the mold) of the batter into each mold.
  6. Bake for 15 mins or until golden brown on top.
  7. Let cool for about 10 mins before slicing in half.

BLT 

Ingredients (1 sandwich):

  • 2 Slices of Bacon
  • 2 Slices Tomato
  • 4 Spinach Leaves
  • 1/4 Sliced Avocado
  • 1/4 Sauteed Pepper (yellow, green, red, orange)

Directions:

  1. In a small pan, cook your bacon until crispy and place to the side.
  2. In the same pan, sautee your peppers for about 3-5 mins (if you like your peppers more fully cooked, cook for 8-10 min).
  3. Cut the bun in 1/2 and layer with spinach, tomato, peppers, bacon & avocado.

Try not to eat all 4 rolls and BLT’s at once! 😉

Leave a comment